Viola part from Bebop for Beagles

10 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

“Bebop for Beagles” was commissioned and premiered by Mark and Ute Miller, also known as Duo Renard, based in Dallas, TX. The duet is a tribute to the couple’s pet beagles, Hoover and Roosevelt and their way of life. From utmost relaxation to frantic and playful moments - the two certainly knew how to make the best of life’s challenges.

This “mini-suite” for violin and viola consists of 7 movements. The viola kicks off “Hoover’s Holiday” with a swingy and driving melody, picked up by the violin and developed into a “big band style “arrangement.

“Cookies in Space” might be the ultimate dog fantasy – slow motion rotating sweet treats – you can meditate over that during this slow interlude.

“Purzelbaum” is the German word for “Somersault” and this piece plays around with meter changes and overjoyed gestures in double stops and melodic lines. Dog Park, anyone ?

Sunbathing does have an important moment in a dog’s day (Cats like it too , by the way). And the blues seems to go nicely with it.

The 5th movement, “Flea Control: Mission Impossible” definitely speaks for itself. A very fast 5/4 meter groove sets the pace and supports virtuosic melodic lines for both players.

What Disneyland might be for children, the kitchen is certainly for dogs. Sneaking around and watching the refrigerator close and, more importantly, to open needs a dog’s full concentration. “The Kitchen Blues” pays tribute to that.

The final movement connects with the first in its “swingy” nature and drive. A short motif builds and leads to a solo middle section. Although it might sound improvised, all parts have been written out entirely. Triple stops in both instruments suggest a full horn section. Maybe it’s time to start dancing now.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Benedikt Brydern. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.