Trombone - Part B part from The Hemlow March Past - Simplified Version

(or "The TACSTC March Past")

The “Hemlow March Past” was dedicated to the Trenton Air Cadet Summer Training Centre in 2010, but it was first written in 2008 for 800 “Black Forest” Squadron (Royal Canadian Air Cadets) in Mississauga, Ontario. It is named after Jason Hemlow, a former cadet from the unit. The composer used an encoding system to write the names of several other friends and role models from his time as an air cadet, into the melodies of the piece. In fact, the first nine notes of the introduction section (at least according to the composer) are an encoding of the words “Air Cadets”.

When the band at his home unit found the first version of the piece too difficult, Wright brought it to the Trenton CSTC in 2009 to test it out on the training centre’s cadet band. Some adjustments and revisions were made (not the least of which was the dedication, now to the Trenton CSTC), and the piece was brought back the next year. It was first publicly performed at a graduation parade on 23 July 2010, before the CO, LCol David A. Wright (of no relation to the composer), and members of the OPC.

Suggestions for Performance

The piece was written to mimic the form of the “RAF March Past”, featuring a mirrored 4-bar introduction and Coda, as well as a soaring ‘airforce-style’ trio section, and thus lends itself to similar uses as its source.

This “simplified” version has shortened the form of the original piece, and takes advantage of the A-B-C-D format to make it easier to issue and play. This does, however, make it mostly incompatible with the “Orchestrated” 2010 version. It is still flexible enough, though, to be played in different ways, to suit various applications:

Standard Version: The “Simplified” version is intended to be played normally by performing it from beginning to end, without the optional “Da Capo”.

Extended Version: The optional “Da Capo” marking can be used to loop the piece indefinitely, but is best used only once. During the second time through, the repeat sign at rehearsal mark “B” may be used or ignored at the DMus’ discretion.

The Advance: This is done by performing the final 4 bars of the piece (15 paces), or the final 2 bars (7 paces), depending on the length of the advance. Condensed Version: Used for mess dinners, this version is performed by starting from the beginning and playing (without repeats) until rehearsal “C”.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Elliot Wright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Elliot Wright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.