Trumpet - Part C part from Yorckscher Marsch

(or "March for the Bohemian Militia")

A few decades after the Seven Years War in which Der Hohenfriedberger was written, the French Revolutionary Wars and later the Napoleonic Wars engulfed Europe.

Originally written in 1808, as “March for Military Band No. 1 in F Major, WoO 18”, this piece gets its name from Prussian General Yorck (which explains the strange spelling), and sometimes also goes by other titles, including “Marsch des Yorck’schen Korps” and “March for the Bohemian Militia”. It was the first in a set of three military marches written by Beethoven.

Beethoven was a strong believer in the revolutionary ideals of Liberty, Equality and Brotherhood, which at the time were often spread militarily in Europe. He even dedicated his third symphony to Napoleon Bonaparte (at least until Bonaparte crowned himself Emperor); and many of his works focus on the great optimism of the Enlightenment, and the revolutionary hope of a new, free world order. Yorckscher Marsch is still performed today as the first march of the Grand Tattoo in Germany, and is the official march of the “Wachbattaillon”, the German Army’s Elite Drill Unit.

Suggestions for Performance

As enthusiastic as he was, it is clear that Beethoven was more familiar with strings and orchestras than he was with marching bands – the player will notice that the piece affords very few opportunities to breathe, and its pace is not particularly at home in our 120-bpm “Quicktime” – consider trying slower tempos, or using it as an inspection piece.

As a note to the DMus, it is beneficial here to put the Tuba on “C”, so that the Trombones can take advantage of the brief harmonic line in the “D” part without losing the unity of the bass line.

The DMus should note - this is the most difficult piece in this collection.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Elliot Wright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Elliot Wright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.