Clarinet in Bb part from The Mysterious Meadow

8 minutes
Modern classical music

I have been influenced by the works of Jan Sibelius, Frederick Delius and Rimsky-Korsakov for realization of fantasy-impressionistic form, and by my mentor, H. K. Headley (1906-1995). As in Headley’s works, in “Mysterious Meadow” there is a freedom of development and the composition is keyless, relying frequently on harmonies of open fourths and fifths, although thirds and sixths are used for emotional balance. Also “The Mysterious Meadow” is based on organic development of melodic lines, originating from several brief motifs. Following the naturalistic inclinations of Sibelius and Delius as well as Headley (in his “California Suite”), the composition seeks to evoke what one might discover in a walk through a wood to a hidden meadow, and then bring out again.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Stan V. McDaniel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Stan V. McDaniel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.