Bassoon part from Tragic Love Suite

10 minutes
Classical music and Modern classical music
Other parts

The programme for this piece is a mundane tragic love story.


The boy is full of joy, and is generally happy with the world. There’s no reason why, he’s just high on life, and content as he is.


The boy is merrily going about his business when he sees the girl. He stops to watch her pass by, and then cheerfully continues on his way. When the boy sees her again, he watches her once more, but this time she greets him. Their emotions do a dance (as do their themes) and then the moment is over. She must depart, so they bid each other farewell and the boy walks away with a spring in his step. Unable to get the image of the girl out of his mind, he savours the brief moment shared with her, then stops and thinks contemplatively…


The boy and the girl meet up on a pleasant night and have a wonderfully magical evening. They walk together through the night, finally fall asleep. The boy feels utterly complete: nothing could be better in the world.


Tragedy. He wakes up and finds the girl gone. Fearful of losing his love he races around, searching for her. He fears the worse, but continues on just the same. The tension builds within until he discovers that she has left for good. He curses and blames himself for the abandonment, and thoughts of retribution assault him. He finally breaks down in anguish.


Although he has recovered from the shock of the tragedy somewhat, he is now left with a deep sadness that goes to his core. His state of mind becomes more confused until he concedes defeat and faces reality – the girl is gone and will not return. He will never see her again.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Vaughan. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Vaughan has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.