Voice part from Je ne veux point mourir encore (A. Jacques / A. Chénier)

4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Translation (AJ):

1._The corn’s budding ear ripens, by the scythe left alone; Without the fear of the press, the vine branch all summer Drinks the sweet gifts of daybreak; And me, like it tender and young like it, In spite of how much the present time has of trouble and worry, I do not want to die yet, I do not want to die yet!

2._My beautiful journey still is so far from its end! I leave, and of the elms bordering the path, I have hardly passed the first ones. At life’s banquet just started, For a moment only my lips have pressed The cup still full between my hands, The cup still full between my hands!

3._I am only at spring, I want to see the harvest, And like the sun, from season to season, I want to complete my year. Bright on my stalk and the garden’s pride, I have seen only glow the morning lights, I want to complete my day, I want to complete my day!

4._Oh death you can wait; move, move away; Go and console the hearts that shame, dread, Or the pale despair devours. For me, summer has still some green refuges, The Cupids some kisses, the Muses some concerts, I do not want to die yet, I do not want to die yet!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alain Jacques. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.