Tuba part from Origins

for Orchestra

10 minutes
Modern classical music

Origins musically represents three important recent scientific explorations of space and matter that are designed to give humans a better understanding of the origins of the universe and the origins of life. The first movement, Black Holes and Cyclotrons, represents the quest to understand and reproduce the relationship between gravitation and energy that scientists believe caused the big bang and our ever-expanding universe. The music of this movement represents the danger inherent in these explorations into the unknown. There are sections of the movement that are lighter in nature that depict subatomic particles dancing around in a particle accelerator. The end of the movement increases in tempo reflecting the ever-increasing speeds of particle accelerators and the gravitational pull of black holes. The Surface of Mars is the title of the second movement that depicts NASA’s Mars Exploration Rover Mission. The rovers Spirit and Opportunity have explored the surface of Mars and have revealed the surface as being mostly a barren landscape void of life. The outer sections of this movement reflect this discovery. The middle section of the movement represents the excitement of one of the rovers finding indications of water having existed on Mars and therefore the possibility that life may have also existed. The third movement, Window Into Deep Space, is a tribute to the Hubble Space Telescope. This movement has many uplifting sections as the Hubble Space Telescope has provided views of the universe never before seen from Earth. It also has sections of anxiety as this mission was wrought with several failures that nearly derailed it. The promise of increased understanding of our universe is reflected in the ending of this composition.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Sy Brandon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Sy Brandon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.