Violin I part from We Wish You A Merry Christmas

English Traditional
2 minutes
Classical music

Written for the Secondary Campus Winter Concert at the British International School of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. This arrangement is ideally suited for School Orchestra, with easy parts for all instruments.

Vocals can be added as was intended for the original performance involving the school choirs and the concert audience, with the F Major key signature providing an easy singing range for most voices.

To make this arrangement a little different I have added countermelodies based on the American traditional melody to Away in A Manger, and the carol, Who Is He In Yonder Stall. The final verse has a metrically altered quote from Elgar’s Land of Hope and Glory in the violin and horn parts, played against a quasi-fanfare in the trumpet and timpani parts. Additional parts can be written on request for any instrument or playing ability.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Scott. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jonathan Scott has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.