Tenor Saxophone part from Sonata "Funtasies" for Tenor Saxophone and Piano

page one of the Tenor Saxophone part from Sonata "Funtasies" for Tenor Saxophone and Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This composition was composed for Jeffrey Kyle Hutchins, saxophone and EunHye Grace Choi, piano. It is in four movements. The first movement “Boisterous” is not in the classical sonata form, however, it does reflect sonata-like qualities with contrasting themes. It is very rhythmic and uses the interval of the fourth for its melodic and harmonic material. The second movement “Whimsical’ is in a moderate tempo with five beats per measure. It is very playful as it alternates diatonic with chromatic passages with outbursts of musical laughter. Movement 3 "Witty" is in a scherzo style. The melody and harmony are based on thirds but are not in any clear key because the thirds will freely vary between major and minor creating an atonal quality. Contrast between staccato and legato is another way the movement is witty. The last movement is called "Teasing" and is in a modified Rondo form ABACBA. The teasing occurs in many different ways. The first appearance is the way the movement seems to stop and start as if promising a longer line, but not delivering. In the B section, the left hand of the piano plays a syncopated idea consisting of wide intervals and frequent rests. The right hand inserts a jeering four-note motive. The saxophone plays a melodic idea centered around a descending minor third, the universal teasing chant interval. The C section is in 7/8 and acts as a chase scene, as if a game of tag is being played. The ending continues the teasing by avoiding a strong cadence with deceptive chords and melodic lines of vague tonality/modality.

13 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Tenor Saxophone part from Sonata "Funtasies" for Tenor Saxophone and Piano