Viola part from Mount Pleasant’s "Four Seasons" Winter March

Katrina Gordon
1 minute
Classroom materials

I’ve written this little piece especially for the Mount Pleasant Primary School Orchestra, to introduce the young musicians to the concept of counting rests accurately while others are still playing.

The recorder part uses only four notes: B, A, G and low E. The trumpet part also uses only four notes: A, F#, low D and low B. The xylophone part uses only three notes: E, A and B There are open string (pizzicato) parts for violin, viola and cello. The piano part and violin (melody) part have been written for condfident grade 1 players. The bassoon part is relatively quite tricky but could be played by a very confident grade 1 player. Any missing parts can easily be filled in or boosted by an adult at the piano reading from score.

Our orchestra just rehearsed this piece for the first time this week and they already sound great!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by caithnessmusic .com. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to caithnessmusic .com has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.