Piano part from Nuit d’étoiles (Widor / Banville)

Starry night

Charles-Marie Widor (1844-1937)
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Original poem with a literal translation (AJ):

Refrain: Nuit d’étoiles, Sous tes voiles, Sous ta brise et tes parfums, Triste lyre Qui soupire, je rêve aux amours défunts.

1. La sereine mélancolie Vient éclore au fond de mon coeur, Et j’entends l’âme de ma mie Tressaillir dans le bois rêveur.

2. Dans les ombres de la feuillée, Quand tout bas je soupire seul, Tu reviens, pauvre âme éveillée, Toute blanche dans ton linceul.

3. Je revois à notre fontaine Tes regards bleus comme les cieux; Cette rose, c’est ton haleine, Et ces étoiles sont tes yeux.

Translation (AJ): Refrain: Starry night, Beneath your veils, Beneath your breeze and your perfumes, Sorrowful lyre That sighs, I ponder over a defunct love.

1. The serene melancholy Is birthing at the bottom of my heart, And I hear the soul of my darling Quivering in the dreamy wood.

2. In the shadows of the greenwood, When, discreetly, I am sighing alone, You come back, poor soul awaken’d, All white in your shroud.

3. I recall by our fountain Your gaze blue like the sky; This rose, it’s your breath, And these stars are your eyes.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alain Jacques. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.