Home > Orchestra > Dance of the Maenads > Clarinet in Bb1 part

Clarinet in Bb1 part from Dance of the Maenads

7 minutes
Modern classical music

This was written specifically for a dance/theater performance directed by Jean Erdmann, wife of Joseph Campbell. The text was by California poet, Robinson Jeffers, regarding the Greek myth of Theseus. This composition is the climax of the story. Theseus’ mother is a worshipper of Dionysius. She and her Maenads get whacked out on some heavy brew, and hallucinate that Theseus is a lion. His mother with great heroism chops off his head and runs through the city crying, "Sisters! I have killed a lion!" For the final 12 measures the woodwind and brass players are instructed to dismantle their instruments and make animal sounds through the tubes. The string players are requested to bow on the opposite side of the bridge or yell through the F holes. Understandably, this does not sound so great with Midi, so please use your imagination for the climax.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Victor Spiegel. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Victor Spiegel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.