Piano part from Je ne songeais pas à Rose (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo))

Vieille chanson du jeune temps

Music by Frédéric D’Erlanger (1868-1943)
Other parts
Full details...
page one of the Piano part from Je ne songeais pas à Rose (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo))

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This delightful poem by Victor Hugo, dated 1855, has also been set in music by Léo Delibes, Emile Pessard, Charles-Marie Widor and Alain Jacques among others. The original poem had 9 stanzas, each of 4 verses, and D’Erlanger kept only the 1st, 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th. The complete version was retained by Emile Pessard, Charles-Marie Widor and Alain Jacques (cf scores on ScoreExchange). Translation (AJ):

I was not thinking about Rose, Rose, to the woods, came with me; We were talking about something, But I don’t remember what.

A stream was running fresh and hollow On the velvety mosses, And nature in love Was sleeping in the big muffled woods.

Rose undid her shoe And put, with a naive gesture, Her little foot in the clear water. I did not see her naked foot!

I did not know what to say to her, I was following her in the wood, Seeing her sometimes smiling And sometimes sighing.

I only saw that she was beautiful When we left the muffled woods. "OK, let’s stop thinking about it" she said. Since, I keep thinking about it, always!

Music by Frédéric D’Erlanger (1868-1943)
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Piano part from Je ne songeais pas à Rose (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo))