Clarinetti in B part from Symphony No. 2, Movement 3 (Orchestrated Version)

6 minutes
Modern classical music

Finally I was able to work the Third Movement of my Second Symphony into �Sibelius.� It is a Scherzo in the classical sense, but with a section of a Mexican folkloric character interspersed, which is not too obvious, because the harmonization camouflages it a little bit. A problem are measures 97-142 and their corresponding repetition, 341-392, where I do not know which composer crept into my unconscious, but it seems not to have grown on my own dunghill. If I showed it to Johannes Brahms, he would say that �it sounds like a walk through a landscape � a very well known landscape,� he would add sarcastically. My wife thinks it is from Tchaikovsky�s Nutcracker Suite. At that time, 1968, I was still a fan of Tchaikovsky, and we had several records of his works at home, among them, also the Nutcracker Suite. Maybe, I will have to excise these parts and substitute them by something else, as not to be accused of plagiarism.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michael Drewes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Michael Drewes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.