Solo Horn in F part from Romance for Horn & Chamber Orchestra

7 minutes
Modern classical music

This piece is a substantially re-scored version of the Romance for Horn & Orchestra published last year and has been prepared for a performance by the Forum Sinfonietta at their concert scheduled for 6th March 2004 at St Johns, Bethnal Green, London. As the Forum Sinfonietta is a chamber ensemble, this score has only single woodwind and no harp or timpani. Parts have been added instead for a piano, for a Bb trumpet and trombone.

The Romance has been played through in this form a couple of times already and I have incorporated many of the points raised by the players on notation and playability. I am especially grateful to the soloist, Giles Brindley, for his enthusiasm and for his advice on matters of phrasing. Thanks are also due to Jacob Bard-Rosenberg and to Tim Ellis, two fellow SibMus composers, for their comments and suggestions. Finally, my appreciation to Alan Taylor for shouldering the burden of rehearsing and conducting this piece.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Cedric Peachey. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Cedric Peachey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.