Violin 2 part from Quartetto piccolo

12 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

In the summer of the year 2000 a violinist friend of mine asked if I had written any pieces suitable for a string quartet she played in at the time. As it happened the answer was no, but then I recalled that I had intended for some time to make a string quartet arrangement of a recorder quartet written many years earlier. This was quickly done; the result being ‘Quartetto piccolo’. It is hoped it will prove worthwhile for those seeking a quartet which, whilst not being particularly difficult or aggressively modern, is still recognizably music of the 20th (21st ?) century.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by John Hawkes. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to John Hawkes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.