Oboe part from Jesus Walked this Lonesome Valley

4 minutes
Classical music

This was written for my church choir to sing on the first Sunday in Lent in 2004 (which is also the last Sunday of Black History Month). I borrowed the "flute and a cappella choir" idea from Mary Rose Jensen. This started out as a more chromatic and weird arrangement, but settled into something more standard. I hope it still has a bit of a bluesy feel to it.

Two editing notes (I really should resubmit the piece) 1. the full choir sang at the beginning, not just the women. 2. I let the tenors stay on the D at the end of the piece. Another note: we subsequently performed this with alto sax, which was really nice. Violin would be good too. The instrumental "interludes" should be molto rubato, and pensive.

If you decide to perform it, I'd be pleased to hear your thoughts, as well as feedback on how it went. Thanks!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Robert Passow. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Robert Passow has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.