Trumpet 1 part from Semper Fidelis

3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

A quintet arrangement of one of Sousa's most famous marches. The first trumpet part works with or without it being played on piccolo.

Further to the review at the bottom of this page, the couple of wrong notes that were annoyingly sprinkled about the score have now been corrected (a simple email would have resolved that rather than a review).

As for the scoring, this is obviously a personal preference and if the reviewer has an opinion different to mine then that is his right. I could have simply taken the 1st & 2nd cornet, 1st horn, 2nd trombone and tuba parts from the original wind band set and the march would work adequately as it stood. If one is to listen to any of the great brass quintets around the world (Canadian Brass, Atlantic Brass, Fine Arts Brass, PJBE et al) then you will hear much cleverer arrangements than all 5 players playing all of the time. If one is to do this then there will be massive stamina issues, the audience will get bored with listening to the same sound all of the time and the tuba, trombone & horn players will leave the quintet because they can play boring "tuba" "trombone" & "horn" parts in their wind bands!

Whilst I will be the first to stand up and say that this arrangement is not in the same class as Arthur Franckenpohl or Bill Holcolme it is intended to be a little diversion from the norm. I am sorry to have offended Mr Terrett so!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Richard Stacey. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Richard Stacey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.