7. Trombone part from Nimrod, for trombone octet

Edward Elgar
3 minutes
Classical music

Arrangement for trombone octet of the most famous of the ’’Enigma’’ Variations by Edward Elgar, ’’Nimrod’’.

This variation refers to a London music editor, Augustus J. Jaeger (Nimrod is a hunter in the Old Testament, and ’’Jaeger’’ means hunter in german), a close friend of the composer who gave him useful advice and uncensored criticism, and encouraged him to continue composing at times where Elgar considered giving up.

It became more popular than the work it is actually from, and is played every year in London on Remembrance Sunday.

Use of the alto trombone on part 1 and bass trombone on part 9 is recommended. Part 10 can be played or doubled on the tuba, as it is pretty low. For larger choirs who can double every part and allow the transition to work, the use of cup or non-metallic mutes for the first 8 bars would probably be a nice option.

Please let me know if you wish to perform this arrangement.

Arrangement for trombone choir (10 parts with optional tuba) also available (see related scores).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Maximilien Brisson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Maximilien Brisson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.