Horn in F 1 & 2 part from BB2 on the Fritz

For BB2’s Subway Travels

5 minutes
Classical music

I wrote this piece in the spring of 2009 for my good friend Beth, who was living in New York City. Every day, Beth would get on the subway. One day, she suggested I write a piece of music based on her travels from work, so, with that in mind, I wrote "BB2 on the Fritz."

The beginning of the piece is the start of Beth’s travels. She is walking into the subway station to catch the train home. At measure 12, Beth gets on the train and her travels are underway. From here, the piece gets very "busy" sounding and chaotic as she had mentioned that the first stop and second stop were the busiest on her ride. The third stop, which was hers, was calmer. At measure 134, Beth gets off the train and finally gets home from a hard day’s work. This section of the piece is meant to sound like a Broadway Musical climax as Beth worked at a theatre at the time. At measure 160, the alarm goes off the next day and Beth runs to the train station to catch her train. At measure 172, you can almost see Beth’s head drop as the train doors close and begins its journey.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by John Pasternak. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com John Pasternak has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.