Piano part from Noël Noël - Le Jésus des neiges (Rhené-Baton / Th. Gautier)

Le ciel est noir

Rhené-Baton (1879–1940)
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This charming poem by Théophile Gautier was published in 1861 under the title "Le Jésus des neiges: Noël". It has also been set to music by Alain Jacques. Literal translation (AJ):

1. The sky is black, the earth is white, Bells ring gaily a peal, Jesus is born, the Virgin tilts Over him her charming face.

2. No festooned rangings To protect the child from the cold; Only spider webs Hanging from the beams of the roof.

3. He shivers on the cool straw This darling little baby Jesus, And to warm him up in his manger The donkey and the ox are blowing on him.

4. The snow to the thatch is sewing fringes, But on the roof opens the sky And, all in white, the choir of the angels Sings to the shepherds: Noël, Noël!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.