Alto Saxophone 2 part from Overture in G minor

10 minutes
Classical music

Bruckner’s tenure as the Linz, Austria Cathedral organist (1856-68) allowed him to also build his foundation in music composition. Six years of exacting theory studies with Simon Sechter (1856-61) built up an enormous pressure to compose, since Sechter explicitly forbade his students any free composition. Upon completing Sechter’s course with honors, the local orchestra’s principal cellist, Otto Kitzler, became its conductor in 1861. This fortuitous timing allowed Bruckner to study large-scale form and orchestration with Kitzler. He composed a 4-movement "study" Symphony in F minor and this Overture in 1863. Schubert, Mendelssohn, and Schumann had influenced him up to this point. Bruckner attended Kitzler’s Linz premiere of Wagner’s Tannhauser on 13 February 1863, but he had not yet absorbed Wagner’s music when he wrote these works. However he demonstrated a sound grasp of sonata form in the Overture, which owes much to Mendelssohn yet foreshadows much of what Bruckner’s music would become.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Martin Tousignant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Martin Tousignant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.