Violin I part from Suite of the Sky

9 minutes
Classical music

PLEASE EMAIL ME PROOF OF PURCHASE AND I WILL EMAIL YOU COMPLETE PARTS. Suite of the Sky follows a child’s day at the Festival of Flight. We are first introduced to the child skipping along the beach under a clear blue spring sky. Suddenly, a crowd appears from nowhere as the sky is filled with countless different coloured kites. Represented by the octave leaps heard throughout the orchestra, the kites weave and dance together through the air. This multi-coloured kaleidoscope of colours in the sky is unlike anything the child has ever seen before. As quickly as they had appeared, the kites leave the sky and are replaced by something even more splendid. As the large shadows pass over the grounds of the Stanwell Park Reserve, majestic hang gliders launch themselves from Bald Hill and take to the skies. Their majesty and grace as they slowly glide down to the ground inspires the child. It starts off as a slight thumping on the wind as the metal birds make their approach. First to arrive are the helicopters, heralded by the trumpets, followed by the aeroplanes, signalled by the horns and lower brass. Initially the child is frightened by these large, loud monsters but as they get closer, a childish curiosity is aroused from within. As the flyover ends, the child is left both apprehensive and fascinated with these metal birds. And so closes a wonderful day for the child. Weary from the exciting day of new experiences, the child reminisces about kites, hang gliders and metal birds. With each ring of the tam-tam, the child’s eyelids become heavier and heavier before finally falling asleep on the car trip home. This piece is comprised of five movements, each representing an aspect of the day. While these movements are written to be performed continuously, they can also be performed as five self-contained short pieces. Cover design: Kate MacDonald 2013

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Sean Moloney. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Sean Moloney has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.