Piano part from Interplay for Bassoon/Trombone/Euphonium, Tuba/Bass Clarinet and Piano

14 minutes
Modern classical music

Interplay was composed for the Maxwell Trio, an ensemble consisting of Kansas State University faculty members with the unusual combination of instruments of bassoon, tuba, and piano. It was premiered at the 2013 International Double Reed Society Conference. The composition can be performed with trombone or euphonium substituting for the bassoon and bass clarinet substituting for the tuba (parts are provided). The title of this three-movement work was derived from the large use of counterpoint throughout the composition. The first movement is in a quasi sonata form. The second movement is in an ABA form. The middle section of this movement uses an ostinato to accompany the melodic interplay. The last movement is lighter than the first two movements and utilizes a loose rondo form. Its allegro tempo and frequent meter changes add a humorous quality. The interplay in this movement relies less on counterpoint. Instead, the shifting of colors through alternating the melodic material among the three instruments creates interplay between sections within the rondo form.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Sy Brandon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Sy Brandon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.