Piano part from Si tu veux, faisons un rêve (F. Thomé / Victor Hugo)

If you want, let’s have a dream

Francis Thomé (1850-1909)
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Whereas Saint-Saëns selected 9 stanzas (1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 14) and Alain Jacques 9 stanzas in an initial version (1-5, 8, 12-14) and 6 stanzas in a later version (1, 2, 4, 5, 12, 14), Francis Thomé, here, is selecting 12 stanzas (1-8, 11-14).

Literal translation (AJ) of the 12 stanzas selected by Thomé: 1. If you want, let’s have a dream: Let’s ride two palfreys; You lead, I kidnap you. The bird sings in the woods.

2. I am your master and your prey, Let’s go, it’s the end of the day; My horse will be joy, Your horse will be love.

3. We will make their heads touch; Journeys are easy; We will give to these animals The oats of our kisses.

4. Come! our sweet pretended horses Are both pawing the ground, Mine in the depth of my dreams, And yours in the depth of heaven.

5. Some luggage is needed; We will carry our wishes, Our happinesses, our misery, And the flower of your hair.

6. Come, the evening is darkening the oaks; The sparrow laughs, this mocker; Hear the sweet sound of the chains That you have put around my heart.

7. If won’t be my fault If the forest and the hills, Seeing us close to each other, Would murmur: "Let’s love!"

8. Come, be tender, I am drunk. Oh the green bush covered with dew! Your breath will make you follow Butterflies that have awakened.

11. Let’s go through Austria We will have dawn in front; I will be great, and you rich, For we will love each other.

12. Let’s go by the earth, On our two charming horses, In the azure, in the mystery, In the dazzling amazements!

13. We will enter an inn, And we will pay the innkeeper With thy smile of a virgin, With my greetings of a schoolboy.

14. You will be Dame and me Count; Come, my heart is blooming, Come, we will tell this tale To the stars of the night.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.