Alto Flute part from BORODIN: Notturno from String Quartet no 2, for Flute Choir (3fl, afl, bfl)

Alexander BORODIN (1834-1887)
7 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Borodin’s Notturno , the third movement of his String Quartet no 2 in D, needs no introduction. The present arrangement, for 3 flutes, alto flute and bass flute, in the original key, adheres as closely as possible to the tessitura of the original. This means that high cello parts are given to the alto flute, though by and large flutes 1 and 2 play violins 1 and 2, the alto has the bulk of the viola part, as the bass does that of the cello. Flute 3’s part mainly fills out the double-stopped remainder of the Violin 2 and Viola accompaniments, and would be ideal for less experienced players. BUT PLEASE NOTE: to be as faithful as possible to the original - and to avoid going up an octave unnecessarily - Flutes 1 and 3 do need at least one player each with a B-foot.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.