Voice part from En sourdine (G. Fauré / Verlaine)

In muted tone

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Literal translation (AJ):

1. Quiet in the half light That the high branches are making, Let’s imbue our love With this deep silence.

2. Let’s melt our souls, our hearts, And our senses in ecstasy, Among the vague languors Of the pines and the arbutuses.

3. Close your eyes half-way, Cross your arms on your chest, And from your heart asleep Get rid forever of any plan.

4. Let’s be persuaded In the lulling and sweet breeze Which comes at our feet and ripple The waves of russet grass.

5. And, when, solemn, the evening, Amidst the dark oaks, will be falling, As the voice of our despair, The nightingale will sing.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.