2nd Trombone part from Knights of the Skies

7 minutes

Knights of the Skies Composer: Peter Bray

Introduction The included work is a suite for brass band set out in three movements, and is initially dedicated to Morecambe Band as part of a competition entry to celebrate their centenary year, 2004. The inspiration for the work comes from the role of the Royal Air Force, and is a tribute to the courage and bravery of serving personnel both past and present.

The First Movement (Concert B flat) The first movement is a march in traditional style entitled ?Marching on Air?. This movement has an unashamedly triumphant air about it, as it portrays a fly past and salute to the pilots, aircrew and aircraft synonymous with the First and Second World Wars.

The Second Movement (Concert C minor) The second movement entitled ?An Elegy to the Stricken?. Here the music is sombre, and is directed towards the harrowing and dangerous tasks of rescue. Be it the rescue of disaster victims or the inevitable casualties of war. A feature of this movement is the steady drum beat representing the relentless beat of propellers or rotor blades.

The Third Movement (Concert B flat) Written in ternary form, the third and last movement entitled ?Jet Stream? is a celebration and show time. The movement brings us bang up to-date with the agility of the modern jet fighter and the awesome aerobatics of the Red Arrows display team.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Peter Bray. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Peter Bray has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.