3rd Horn in F part from Signatures (bassoon concerto)

21 minutes
Modern classical music

One’s identity can be contained in one word: one’s own name. When signing your name, you sign an idea of who you are, so when other people read your signature, they instinctively conjure up images or memories of their perception of your identity. Your signature becomes not just a name, but rather an idea or conception of your identity. It is inescapable. Signatures is an autobiographical biography based on perceptions of my signature.

This one-movement bassoon concerto uses a mathematical process to reduce my last name�Eismeier�into music pitches, so that each letter in my name "E, I, S, M, and R" has its own set of pitches based on the spelling of Eismeier. The result is five different sets of name-spelling pitches, each of which spell my name differently. The concerto is in nine parts, of which the first eight represent each respective letter in my last name in order. Along with its own unique set of pitches, each letter has its own musical character, but never can the music stray from the process that invented its pitch identities. The music is bound to my name just as my identity is bound to my signature on the music. The final part of the piece is labeled "set free," and marks the final transcendence of identity that can only occur in the eternal life that follows, and the music becomes free from all of the constraints that defined all of the music before. The bassoon is the featured soloist because I am a bassoonist, and it is part of my signature. The very first thing played in this piece is my name, and that same motif appears in every part of this piece. It’s my signature; it’s the story of my life.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jordan M. Eismeier. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Jordan M. Eismeier has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.