Voice part from Le Lac (Alain Jacques / Lamartine)

The lake

5 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Litteral translation (AJ):

1. Thus, always pushed towards new lands, In the eternal night carried without return, Will we ever be able, on the ocean of time, To throw the anchor one single day?

2. O! lake, the year has just finished its cycle, And, besides the dear waters she was due to see again, Look! I come alone to sit on this rock Where you saw her sit!

3. One evening, do you remember? we were boating in silence; One could hear in the distance, on the waters and under the skies, Only the noise of the oarsmen who were hitting in cadence Your harmonious surface.

4. All of a sudden tones unknown to the earth Echoed on the spell-bound banks; The waters listen attentively, and the darling voice Dropped those words:

5. "O! time suspend your flight! and you, auspicious hourds, Suspend your course! Let us relish the swift delights Of our most beautiful days.

6. "Let’s thus love, let’s thus love! The runaway hour Let’s hasten, let’s enjoy! Man has no harbour, time has no banks, It flows, and we go along!"

7. O! lake! mute rocks! grottos! dark forest! You that time saves or can make younger, Keep from that night, keep, beautiful nature, At least the memory!

8. May the wind that moans, the reed that sighs, May the light scents of thy balmy air, All that we hear, see or breathe, All say: "They have loved!"

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alain Jacques. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.