Alto Saxophone 1 part from Fly By Day (big band)

2 minutes
Jazz music

This is an expansion of the condensed jazz quintet version already posted on the site. The tenor sax, trumpet and piano solos are indicative only and have been included to improve listenability, illustrate the feel, as well as demonstrate various types of approach notes and the use of chord vs. tension tones. The contrapuntal “fugue” section was inspired by the spirit of Bill Holman, one of the masters of linear big band writing. Instrument ranges have been kept practical; the Trumpet I max is concert Bb above the treble staff. An alternate soprano sax part substituting Alto Sax I is also available. E-mail me if you want the tenor, trumpet and piano parts with the solos included.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Roger Freundlich. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Roger Freundlich has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.