4th Horn in F part from Themes from Brahms' Trio Opus 8

Johannes Brahms
9 minutes
Classical music

This is some of the first movement, Allegro con brio, of Brahms' "Piano Trio in B," Opus 8. The wisdom of arranging a piano trio for marching band may appear questionable, but I knew that the beautiful first subject would sound exquisite with brass, and so I couldn't resist.

Students of theory will be interested to know that there is an augmented triad in this piece. This rare beast seems to function as a dominant on VII leading to I.

I took great pains the make this playable and arranged the clarinet parts for easy fingering. I hope that my efforts will enable more people to become acquainted with this sublime early masterpiece of a superb musician.

Parts for E-flat alto horns and Euphonium in treble clef are available in PDF form on request at no charge.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Keith Otis Edwards. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Keith Otis Edwards has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.