Violin I part from Lassus Cello

Henry Fillmore
3 minutes
Other parts

This is an arrangement of the popular Lassus Trombone showcase piece by Henry Fillmore for string orchestra. Steping in for the trombones, though, is the cellos. The greatest difficulty in this piece arises with the challenge of the glissandos in some of the parts. The player is trying to mimic a trombone slide-glissando, and to do this, one single bow stroke should be used over the entire gliss. Also, the left hand should be slid along the fingerboard to go from note to note instead of the fingers being lifted as normally. This presents some awkward motion for string players, and it will take work. Finally, to be able to play some of the glissandos all on one string, some untraditional alternate fingers will have to be used.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Ryan Ross. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Ryan Ross has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.