Trumpet in E^b^ (prepare Piccolo Trumpet in B^b) part from Little Suite for Brass Quintet

5 minutes
Modern classical music

First performed by Onyx Brass; Freshwater, Isle of Wight; 11 January 2014

This short suite – the total playing time is less than 5 minutes – is dedicated to Brian and Barbara Wilson, the composer’s parents, on their Diamond Wedding, though it is based on material from three decades ago. Instead of the usual line-up with two B flat trumpets, one of the trumpeters is asked to play the higher-pitched E flat instrument and, in the third movement, the even higher piccolo trumpet.

The Aria contains a few harmonic surprises, and in the middle section the E flat trumpet gives a brief foretaste of the opening of the third movement. The Scherzo has various major/minor uncertainties and a middle section which thinks it wants to be a waltz but never manages to settle into triple time. In the third movement a short three-part canon is followed by a more static section with a dozen high notes from the piccolo trumpet; the canon is then reprised with chromatic inflections. The last movement might well be called Dance but the composer recommends that you do not attempt to do so – particularly if you are old enough to be celebrating your Diamond Wedding!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Martyn Wilson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Martyn Wilson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.