Alto Recorder 2 part from Trio Sonata for Barbara Steinberg

12 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

This piece was composed on commission from Barbara Steinberg, a recorder student of Frances Feldon, who was my traverso teacher. Barbara’s group requested that the piece be composed for 2 alto recorders, modern cello and piano, with the right hand of the piano written out. (Normally in baroque music you just provide chord figures with the bass line, and the keyboardist knows what to do with the right hand, so after you listen to it you can make your own decisions about what to do. I kinda like what I did in some spots!) I think it would work just fine on (baroque) cello and harpsichord. The piece stays within the reasonable baroque-music boundaries for the most part, except for the first alto’s high a-flat in the finale, but any competent player should have no problem with that. Have a ball with it! I love to play it.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Glen Shannon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Glen Shannon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.