Horn in F part from Speak Your Mind, Compromise - Barter, Trust, for wind quintet

5 minutes
Classical music

I wanted to write a piece that took inspiration from the concept of the political process itself. The starting point was a quote from William Burke (1729-97): "All government, indeed every human benefit and enjoyment, every virtue, and every prudent act, is founded on compromise and barter." [Speech on Conciliation with America] This uncompromising quote did not in itself suggest to me all that was required, and so I tried to suggest the ideas of ’SpeakYour Mind’ and ’Trust’ in the other two sections. The music is presented as a combined score/part and I felt that in this context the idea of musicians playing within a single ’forum’ would have an extra resonance. The music is presented on two sides of a single page, and I deliberately preceded the third section ’Trust’ with the instruction ’turn over…’. In this way I hope to evoke the idea of ’turning over a new leaf’.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Paul Burnell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Paul Burnell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.