Bb Basses part from Suite from"The Tale of the Tsar Saltan" Op. 57 for Brass Band

for Brass Band

N. Rimsky-Korsakoff (1844-1908) arr. John Srutowski
20 minutes
Classical music

This suite contains "The Flight of the Bumblebee" as the third movement, arranged not as a typical solo or soli with accompaniment, but for full ensemble as in the orchestra, with ample cues so everyone can give it a go for a few bars. The other movements are complete as in the original concert suite Korsakoff drew from the opera. The brass band displays the composer’s harmonic genius particularly well; while the work is certainly romantic overall, the harmony does look forward to the 20th century, the opera being composed at its cusp, e.g. the long pedal sequences in the second movement. Korsakoff the bandmaster shines through in several places in this, his diatonic opera (Le Coq d’Or his chromatic one), and the arrangement preserves the voicing, and spirit, of the original as much as possible.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by John Srutowski. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to John Srutowski has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.