1st Trumpet part from Tin-Pan Alley Folio for Brass: I’m All Dressed Up and No Place To Go

Joseph M. Daly
3 minutes
Ragtime music

Tin Pan Alley specifically refers to a few blocks of Midtown Manhattan where the music industry grew in the late 19th century. Joseph M. Daly, however, established his own publishing house in Boston in the early 20th century. His first great hit was the familiar "Chicken Reel" of 1910, and he wrote a series of popular ragtime tunes after that. Some information about Daly can be found at www.parlorsongs.com/bios/composersbios.asp

This seems to be one of his later works, and I can find nothing he wrote after World War I. I doubt if Daly or his lyricist, Thomas S. Allen, coined the phrase All Dressed Up and No Place to Go, as I once read a list of inscriptions on old American tombstones. One epitaph read, "HERE LIES AN ATHEIST – ALL DRESSED UP AND NO PLACE TO GO."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Keith Otis Edwards. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Keith Otis Edwards has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.