3 Bassoon part from Quadrille (flexible woodwind trio)

1 minute
Classical music

Looking for something to integrate complete beginners with those who are a little – but not a lot – further on?

This woodwind arrangement of a Haydn Quadrille has three essential parts (numbered in score), with a degree of flexibility about possible instrumentation. Play one-to-a-part with friends or family, or several-per-part to perform with a larger group.

Parts 1 and 2 are pre-ABRSM Grade 1, as is Part 3 if played by Bassoon. The Bb Clarinet version of Part 3 is a bit more challenging, so best suited to a good Grade 1 level player who is comfortable about adding the C#s in the key signature.

Optional Easy Flute/Oboe and Easy Bassoon parts each use only 3 different notes, with supported rhythms.

An upper octave version of Part 1 is available separately – this can be useful if your group includes a more experienced flautist who is comfortable using third octave D and E, or would benefit from practising these. Find this part in the ‘Optional alternatives and add-ons’ folder on my profile page.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Catriona Melville-Mason. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Catriona Melville-Mason has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.