Alto 1 Recorder part from Walking Home down Robson Street

4 minutes
Modern classical music

This is a challenging neoclassical piece for seven recorder parts (sopranino doubles with alto 2). What starts out as a simple melody and countermelody leads to canon writing with melody and countermelody (further developed) playing out together. With so much happening in the higher registers, the regular bass line takes over as the new melody. When the melody and countermelody return, they echo and move on from their original form.

The inspiration for this came one evening as I walked home from work down Vancouver's Robson Street.

My thanks go to Patricia Hiss who has workshopped this piece with her group, the Bellingham Recorder Players. In fall 2004, Patricia and her Players will be performing it in White Rock, British Columbia.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Nina Shoroplova. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Nina Shoroplova has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.