Violoncello part from Norwegian National Anthem for String Orchestra

Rikard Nordraak
1 minute
Classical music
Other parts

A new harmonisation of Norway’s national anthem entitled:’’Ja,vi elsker dette landet’’, arranged for strings.

The original melody was written by Rikard Nordraak(1842-66).

It became the national anthem on the 17th May,1864, which was the 50th anniversary of the adoption of the constitution by the people of Norge.

The title translates in English to ’’Yes, we love this land’’.

For those of you who are interested in National Anthems of the world, an excellent site can be found at:

This is the site of the very best NA book available, edited by Michael Jamieson Bristow, FRGS.

My version of the Papua New Guinea N.A. will be in the 11th edition of this book.

The other site I highly recommend is:


This is the site of the U.S. Navy Band, who perform each anthem for you, a fantastic resource for national anthem lovers!

If you need string parts, let me know.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Keith Terrett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.