Tuba part from Brass quintet

6 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This work is an attempt to show the potential of a scale including three extra notes within the major keys. These notes are the flat sevenths of the three primary triads, i.e. having a frequency ratio of 7:4 to the bass note. A brass quintet was chosen as the medium for this piece as the sevenths can be obtained by using the seventh natural harmonics of the instruments. This will require a bit of practice from the performers as most brass players learn to avoid this harmonic. The work falls into two sections without a break. The first section is in a brief sonata form. The second section, based on the same material as the first, is more contrapuntal in character although not a strict fugue.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Alan Jones. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alan Jones has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.