1st Horn part from Sandon Hymn Tune Brass Band

C.H. Purday
6 minutes
Classical music

A brass band arrangement of CH Purday’s hymn tune Sandon. Each section of the band gets to show off in this arrangement. The Piece opens with a lone solo cornet. After building into a tutti ensemble the piece gives over to the basses. An unusal bass choir takes over the tune. Next is the turn of the horns. This takes the the melody into the subdominant mode, but disassembles the melody and plays it in a different order. After a return of the tutti melody the trombones play a short bridge passage culminating in a fortissimo diminished chord. The band then takes over the melody again which gradually looses sections of the band to finish with a very tranquil pianissimo finale on the cornets.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Simon George. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Simon George has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.