Alto Saxophone 2 part from Mt. Signal March (Band)

Joel Jacklich (A.S.C.A.P.)
3 minutes
Classical music

Following a brief introduction, Mount Signal starts with a monothematic march divided by a short fife-and-drum-like bridge. The following monothematic trio starts with a drum into, the trio theme, a short bridge, and the trio theme again. My profound apologies are offered to the spirit of James Pierpont for stealing as my trio theme the verse portion of his “Jingle Bells” (albeit with a changed rhythm). This was entirely an unconscious theft, and was brought to light only after the fact by one of my band director friends. The use of the woodwind figures in the first repeat of the trio imitating Sousa’s “Semper Fidelis” trio woodwind figures, however, was completely deliberate. If one is going to steal, one should at least steal from the best!

As for the name of the march: Mount Signal is a mountain sitting astride the United Sates/Mexico border in the southern Yuha Desert of Imperial County, California, and the northern Mexicali Valley of Baja California, Mexico. It is the view each morning as I look out across the back yard garden of my home in rural El Centro.

Joel Jacklich, May 28, 2014, El Centro, CA

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joel Jacklich. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joel Jacklich has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.