Piano part from What I Think About When I am Running

6 minutes
Modern classical music

This piece is based on the breathing patterns I use when running. By concentrating on the exhale (which I do for three paces) and then having a shorter inhale (two paces - giving a total of 5), I find that I not only run faster, but it gives me a focus to concentrate on, especially on longer races. I sometimes find that my mind starts writing music to fit this asymmetric pattern, and this piece slowly developed through this over a number of runs.

The structure of the piece is also derived from the preparation, participation and completion of a run - the intro is full of expectation of what is to come, during the actual development there are parts that are more repetitive, fitting in with the pace and cadence of the footsteps, while other sections are less secure, questioning the rhythmic drive that has been set up. The end is at the point when the run is complete and the body is returning to its relaxed state from the beginning, although in a slightly altered manner.

The scoring I have used is the same as Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time, with the addition of a viola.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alistair Justice. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alistair Justice has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.