Viola part from Omani National Anthem for String Orchestra

Composer unknown
1 minute
Classical music

Nashid as-Salaam as-Sultani is the Sultanate of Oman’s national anthem. It was adopted in 1970 and amended on November 6, 1996.

The music, in the “Arab fanfare” style of anthem is taken from a salute to the Sultan by a British ship in 1932. The bandmaster of the HMS Hawkins, while visiting Muscat, was asked to write a salutation for the Sultan on the occasion of his visiting the Hawkins. The tune was composed and first performed on the occasion of the visit, December 10, 1932. Originally, there were different words to the anthem. When the current sultan, Qaboos bin Said Al Said, took power in 1970 and changed the name of the country to Oman (from Muscat and Oman), new words were written. A slight change to the harmonization was made on November 6, 1996.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Keith Terrett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.