Small Drum part from Adam Lay ybounden

2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This carol was originally composed in 1978, but revised in 1992 for publication in 'GCSE Music' (Longman). The original version was first performed by Chanticleer Chamber Choir in Barley Church, Hertfordshire, and the final version was premiered by the choir of Royston Parish Church - both conducted by the composer.

Using an anonymous 15th century text, a flavour of antiquity has been created by a prominent use of bare consecutive fifths in the voice parts, by the chant-like use of male voices, ostinato drum patterns and by persistent drone notes in the organ accompaniment.

The oboe is instructed to play like a shawm - with a harder tone than usual, emulating the precursor of the modern oboe. The reiterated oboe counter melody has an Arabic flavour, and is slightly varied on each hearing.

Apart from the final two bars, the drum part has two simple ostinato figures which are highly repetitive.

Repeated ostinato bars are also prominent in the organ part, and the opening choral figure is used, with slight variation, in each verse.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Richard Lambert. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Richard Lambert has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.