Eb Bass from Strauss - Solemn Entrance of the Knights of St. John

Feierlicher Einzug der Ritter des Johanniter-Ordens, TrV 224

7 minutes
Classical music

The "Knights Hospitaller", also known as the Knights of Saint John and the Order of Saint John, were among the most famous of the Western Christian military orders during the Middle Ages.

Written in 1909, the Solemn Entrance of the Knights of the Order of Saint-John is a majestic, processional piece marked Slow and Solemn. The opening motive is a distant call underscored by a timpani roll, concluding with what sounds like a reference to Wagner’s Siegfried. The introductory phrase is repeated, but this time it culminates in a climax. After a pause, a solemn chorale-like melody carried by the mellow instruments develops slowly. A second and a third long-winded phrases, separated by repeats of the introductory calls, make up the body of the work. In the final climactic section, the intensity grows all the way to the end. This work has been described by Robert Matthew Walker as "almost Brucknerian in its simplicity and power".

This arrangement is written with the intent of using organ with the band. However, this arrangement can be performed effectively without organ. Note: If performed without organ, rehearsal C can be played tutti by the full band and without the repeat. Regarding the Poco Rubato markings, the intention here is to create some momentum with a push using a quazzi accel. immediately followed by a poco rit. effect. My intention with this is to hopefully instill more of a musical change in tempo instead of one that is more technical.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Mark Preece. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Mark Preece has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.