Harp part from Wong Fei Hung

Alan MacRae
6 minutes
Modern classical music

Composed for the Wiltshire and Swindon Youth Orchestra on their concert tour in China and Hong Kong 2010. Wong Fei Hong was a Chinese folk hero who was both a martial arts master and a practitioner of Chinese medicine. This piece depicts his life, from his birth on the Pearl River delta; his playful childhood, during which he learns his kung fu; he puts away the violence of kung fu for medicine, with the flute and harp representing the wind and water of feng sui; the death of his son and his taking up martial arts again. The piece was first performed by the Wiltshire and Swindon Youth Orchestra, conducted by the composer, in October 2010.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alan MacRae. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alan MacRae has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.