2nd Cornet part from (BRASS BAND) Routemaster

5 minutes
Modern classical music

Routemaster – programme notes

I grew up riding on the most famous of London Bus Routes, the number 15, which utilised the Red Routemaster. It ran from East Ham White Horse to Ladbroke Grove The Eagle through Newham, Tower Hamlets, the City and Oxford Street. The Opening depicts a freshly painted Routemaster standing at the White Horse turning circle, gleaming in the sun. The side drum signifies the engine starting, and the triangle sounds the bell, and away we go. The first solo section depicts the ride through Newham, with a quote from my East Ham Suite indicating the bus is passing Newham Town Hall. The next section depicts the long section along the Commercial Road in the driving rain. It always seemed to rain on that section. A florin waltz section follows, depicting the bus passing Petticoat Lane. A short burst of “O, Sergeant Merrill, is it true?” is a bit of cheat as in its heyday the number 15 did not pass the Tower of London, though it does now. The original theme returns, depicting the bus striding majestically along Fleet Street and Oxford Street towards the route’s finish.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Will Elsom. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Will Elsom has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.